The Committee on Committees meeting was duly called and held on January 4, 1980 at 5:00 p.m. in the Courthouse Annex.

Present: Commissioners Clark, Lowe, May and Farrell.

Absent: None.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Farrell.

The purpose of the meeting was to establish the membership of the various standing committees of the County Board, which are as follows: Executive; Personnel; Finance; Intergovernmental Relations; and Environment, Lands and Buildings. Each commissioner had an opportunity to submit his or her first, second and third committee choices and whether or not they wished to Chair a committee.

It was noted the possibility of transferring the legislative review responsibility from the Executive Committee to the Intergovernmental Relations Committee, and the CETA responsibility from the Executive Committee to the Personnel Committee had been mentioned at the last Committee of the Whole meeting in order to reduce the heavy workload Executive Committee now carries.

Since a sufficient number of commissioners did not indicate Executive Committee as one of their choices, the committee decided to recommend to the Board to alter the number of members on the Executive Committee from six to five and increase the members on the Intergovernmental Relations Committee from five to six.

It was moved by Commissioner Clark, supported by Commissioner Lowe and carried unanimously to recommend to the Board to revise the Rules of Order (Rule #3) to change the number of members on the Executive Committee from six members to five members and to alter the membership of the Intergovernmental Relations Committee from five members to six members.

Discussion was held on whether committees could meet prior to approval of the above recommendation by the County Board. A memo will be sent to each commissioner regarding the recommendation and asking for comments on it. It was noted the recommendation is a result of the fact that not enough commissioners wished to serve on the Executive Committee.

Commissioner Farrell expressed concern about the delay in holding the first meetings of the committees because committee objectives are set during the first meeting and reviewed at the Committee of the Whole meeting. It was felt the Committee of the Whole meeting could be changed from January 23 to January 30 and committees could schedule their first meetings prior to that date so that objectives could be established as soon as possible.

The Finance Committee must meet prior to the second Board meeting according to the Board's Rules of Order. Since the number of committee members will remain the same for Finance Committee it was felt there would be no problem in holding the meeting prior to consideration of the recommendation on the Executive and Intergovernmental Relations Committees make-up by the Board. Dates for other meetings may be determined at the January 16 Board meeting. The Finance Committee will meet on January 9, 1980. Members of the committee will be notified of the meeting.

Following discussion of the standing committees, it was moved by Commissioner May, supported by Commissioner Lowe and carried unanimously to adopt the make-up for the committees, and designate the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for the committees as listed below:

Executive - Clayton Anderson, Chairperson; Joseph Racine, Vice-Chairperson; Richard Coombs, Timothy Lowe; and Pat Farrell.

Personnel - Elaine Juidici, Chairperson; Frank Leone, Vice-Chairperson; Clyde Steele; Ruby Cheatham; Orvo Krook; and Pat Farrell.

Committee on Committee January 4, 1980 Page 2

Environment, Lands and Buildings Committee - Richard Coombs, Chairperson; Clyde Steele, Vice-Chairperson; Joseph Racine; Robert Clark; and Pat Farrell.

Finance Committee - Sally May, Chairperson; Robert Clark, Vice-Chairperson; Clayton Anderson; Elaine Juidici; and Pat Farrell.

Intergovernmental Relations Committee - Timothy Lowe, Chairperson; Ruby Cheatham, Vice-Chairperson; Frank Leone; Orvo Krook; Sally May; and Pat Farrell.

As there was no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Marin Rubi