Source: Iron Ore

Ishpeming, Mi. August 18, 1888

Saturday

The annual meeting of the DSS&A was held in New York last Friday, and resulted in a number of changes. The CPR interest is to control the road. The membership will be represented by Sir George Stephen, Sir Donald Smith, W. C. VanHorne and Richard J. Cross, directors of the CPR, and T. W. Pearsall and J. W. Sterling of New York, the former represented by Samuel Thomas, C. S. Brice, G. I. Seney, J. G. Moore, and J.McMillan of the old board. Mr. McMillan was elected president and Mr. Brice, first vice president, while W. C. Van Horne, vice president of the CPR, was made second vice president. T. M. Schwan was re-elected secretary and E. W. Allen was chosen treasurer. Changes in the boards of the controlled lines, the MH&O and the M&W were made in the same direction, although the principal executive officers were retained. The reelection of Mr. McMillan signifies that there will be no immediate changes in the operating forces of the road. How long the CPR will permit things to remain as they are it is impossible to say.